Zen

Zen

NaPoWriMo 2024

Zen

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep
But I have promises to keep, said Frost
When I think about myself,
I almost laugh myself to death, said Maya

I blew out the light, I tiptoed the floor
And raised both hands, In prayer to the door, said Frost
Lying, thinking, last night, How to find my soul a home
Where water is not thirsty and bread is not stone, said Maya

Natures first green is gold, Her hardest hue to hold
Her early leaf’s a flower, But only so an hour, said Frost
When great trees fall in forests, small things recoil into silence
Their senses, eroded beyond fear, when great soul dies, said Maya
This poem is a dialogue between 2 of my favourite poets, Robert Frost and Maya Angelou

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z 2024


2 thoughts on “Zen

Leave a comment