Valediction

Valediction

NaPoWriMo 2024

Valediction 

“For you a thousand times over”
Hassan said with a smile on his face
No task; small or big he hesitated
For me, he’d happily lay down his life

Hassan was everything I wasn’t
Full of integrity and honour
26 years ago, I left him alone
That day changed our life forever

“A boy who won’t stand up for himself,
becomes a man who can’t stand up to anything”
These words of Baba echo within me
Tormenting my weak, courage-less soul

In Sohrab* I see glimpses of my lost friend
Maybe its my retribution for that day
When the courses of our lives were altered
Due to my jealousy and cowardice ways

You were the price I paid to win Baba’s love
I wish I would’ve saved you that fateful day
What you taught to me, my friend, my brother
Is much more than I can ever repay

*Sohrab- Hassan’s son
This poem speaks of the untold brotherly love Amir had for his half-brother Hassan from the book ‘The Kite Runner’ by Khaled Hosseini

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z 2024


One thought on “Valediction

Leave a comment